The Diviners

Libba Bray’s The Diviners is the first in a series that follows 17-year old Evie O’Neill. It’s the 1920s and after getting into some trouble at home in Ohio, Evie has just been sent to Manhattan to live with her uncle Will, the curator of The Museum of American Folklore, Superstition and the Occult – or as its commonly called among New Yorkers – the Museum of Creepy Crawlies.

Not long after Evie arrives, things suddenly do get creepy, as corpses marked with occult symbols begin to show up all over Manhattan. Uncle Will is asked to assist with the cases but Evie might actually be able to help the detectives more than Will might. By holding a victim’s belonging – whether it’s a ring, earring or shoe, Evie can somehow uncover their secrets. She even discovers that she can read someone’s secrets after their death, which may allow her to find their killer.

This book is full of interesting characters, paranormal occurrences, and – to lighten things up a bit – fun, 1920s slang. If this all sounds interesting to you, you will want to check this out as Book Two comes out in August 2014.

Request this title.

categories:             Teen             Fiction             Paranormal             Historical

Click here to go to Melanie's bio

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s